Fauna – Solefall (album)

Cover art: Oda Hveem – Visuello.no

On all digital platforms and CD

Order CD here!

Click on links below to buy or listen!

The vocal group Fauna was established in the autumn of 2009 at the Norwegian Academy of Music. The group consists of five skilful members who have their backgrounds from different musical traditions:

Silje Worquenesh Østby Kleiven
Camilla Marie Bjørk Andreassen
Beate Børli Løkken
Christina Thingvold
Gudrun Emilie Goffeng

Fauna works with folk songs outside of the conventional folk music tradition. This enables them to explore an intriguing sound, as two of the members are trained jazz singers, while the remaining three are practised in the classical tradition.

Fauna’s musical arrangements are written by the members of the group, and all compositions are tailored for their voices.

Through the music it becomes evident that it is the mixture of differences that makes up the unique and brave sound they present here.

With their debut album Solefall (Sunset), the Norwegian vocal ensemble Fauna leads the listener through a beautiful selection of Norwegian folk songs, all somehow thematically bound to the evening, night and morning. The result is a beguiling and engaging album with great textural variety, spanning from fragility to brutality.

Produced and recorded by Terje Baugerød, TerjeB Production
Mastered by Morgan Nicolaysen, Propeller Mastering
Photo & design by Oda Hveem, Visuello.no

See also: www.fauna-vokalkvintett.com



 Den Klassiske CD-bloggen (Trond Erikson)

«Solefall» is an album that breaks some new path in the vocal folk music´s many labyrinths. It requires a little courage to publish such an album – and then it’s good to hear that they succeed.»


Label no: HZ7-008

RELEASE DATE: 30. october 2015

Legg igjen en kommentar

Din e-postadresse vil ikke bli publisert. Obligatoriske felt er merket med *